top of page

Atlanta to Route 66 in California! Day 1, Go West Road Trip 2017

Imagining the fun ahead of us on our Go West Road Trip 2017 Adventure we boarded the plane in Atlanta to settle into our seat and grin at each other like two kids on their next adventure...which was the truth of it. Our inner child was mentally doing flips down the isle while we zipped through the sky from Atlanta Georgia to LAX in sunny California. The rental car we requested was not available and we were upgraded. Not a bad start. Out of traffic patience we finally made it to our destination for the night in Hisperia CA, but not before something wonderful happened. We stumbled upon a section of the famous Route 66. Yes, we did. Bob was on point to get us to our next stop but when I saw the Route 66 sign, he patiently stopped so I could put my feet on a little bit of the roadway that once connected Chicago Illinois to Santa Rosa California. There are sections where you can drive on it for a short distance and when we came to one, Bob humored me and we drove on Route 66, window down and wind blowing. Bob is the organized trip person who is focused on the next destination but I am always looking for an adventure along the path of our adventure. We were going the speed limit and when the opening for old Route 66 came up, I was all in and Bob zigged over to speed us down a bit of Americana.The section we saw ran parallel to the highway that replaced it. I was just glad Route 66 was not completely gone and I was able to, "Get my kicks on Route 66." Some may say, "It's just a road," but not to me. I have heard about this iconic blacktop for years, and now I can mark one more item off my Bucket List. How about you? Have you ever driven on Route 66?

You Might Also Like:
bottom of page